Things…

October 15, 2010

Things I can do: drive a car, speak French, make creme brulee.

Things I cannot do: read ancient Greek, ride a bike, persuade Charlie to eat pizza

Things I cannot do all at once: post regularly on a blog, keep the house clean (so that someone could walk in at any time), bake like some domestic goddess, stay on top of the washing and ironing (laundry basket overflowing), maintain the garden (carrots got swamped by weeds), research for a PhD thesis, be always ready to engage with a two year old, be happy/witty/insightful on demand, send people birthday cards and pay bills on time, retain a sense of calm equilibrium and healthy self-esteem if dependent on the preceeding.

3 Responses to “Things…”

  1. Chera Says:

    You’re doing better than me. I can’t even speak French or make creme brulee.

  2. Sarah Says:

    Here’s how you get charlie to eat pizza: Spend about 2 hours making ratatouille from tomatoes freshly picked from the garden, serve him that and have pizza on the table. His disgust at your beautiful homemade food will have him reaching out of his chair for pizza.

    Mind you, he probably won’t do a repeat performance as he sounds a bit contrary!

    I like the idea that you have a button and when people press it you have to be witty/ insightful/ cheerful

  3. Katherine Says:

    I always find you witty, my dear. Then something must go–who needs carrots? And, I find the fact that you can cook creme brulee amazing!


Leave a comment